Meet the Multi-Talented Artist Who Survived Cancer, Heo Ji Woong!

Born on December 14, 1979, he’s well known as artist that can do a lot of things. Heo Ji Woong works as a film critic, writer, actor, broadcaster, and columnist. He has appeared on several popular dramas, such as ‘It’s Okay, That’s Love’ and ‘Kill Me, Heal Me’, as a supporting cast. Ji Woong has also appeared in a lot of variety shows, including ‘Knowing Brothers’. But behind all those things, he was also diagnosed with cancer. Because of this, Heo Ji Woong went on hiatus for nearly a year to undertake treatment for his illness. Do you want to know more about his battle with cancer? Don’t worry, we have all the answers for you. . So, without any further ado, let’s get into our topic today!

Diagnosed With Malignant Lymphoma

On December 12, 2018, Heo Ji Woong revealed his recent medical diagnosis to the public on his personal Instagram account. He wrote: “I have received a diagnosis of malignant lymphoma. They say it is a form of hematologic malignancy. I have been noticing some swelling and lethargy for a long time, but had no idea that it was a sign of such a serious disease. While I waited for confirmation these past few weeks, I have been thinking a lot. I’m glad at least that I could finish all the work that I had signed up for. Yesterday, I finished my last filming and feel comfortable in my mind.” He then continued, “I started chemotherapy last week. In my essay collection, ‘For a Life Endured,’ I wrote that we should endure together. I like that phrase a lot. I believe that life can only be lived by enduring whatever comes at us. I think we should all hold in our hearts a phrase that is dear to us and endure until the very end. I will win against this. Thank you.”

A post shared by 허지웅 (@ozzyzzz) on Dec 11, 2018 at 5:04pm PST The same day, Heo Ji Woong’s agency, Esteem Entertainment, also released an official statement about the artist’s condition. They said: “While in the middle of a busy schedule, Heo Ji Woong noticed some strange symptoms in his body and went to the hospital. There, he was diagnosed with diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL) and has begun chemotherapy treatment. He has completed all the work he had previously contracted to do and now will be focusing on his treatment. Please pray for his fast recovery so that he can greet everyone once more with a healthy image. In order to make a full recovery, Heo Ji Woong will be halting all his activities and focusing only on his treatment. We ask for your support and thank you.”

Gives the Latest Update About His Condition And a Successful Chemotherapy Treatment

On May 15, 2019, Heo Ji Woong gave an update about his condition on his Instagram account. He posted a picture of himself at the gym, along with a long massage about his health status. Here is the post below:

A post shared by 허지웅 (@ozzyzzz) on May 14, 2019 at 1:17am PDT Here are the full translation of his caption: “My chemotherapy is complete. In the tests afterwards, there weren’t any abnormalities. My hair and eyebrows are growing back again. I remember the [kind] heart of the person who originally collected four-leaf clovers in an album for his grandmother and ended up sending it to me, saying he thought I would need it. I remember the person who said they were able to get back up and gain strength through my writing during their most difficult time and that they wanted to help me now. I don’t think I’ve lived a good enough life to deserve these kinds of encouragement and support. I did try, but I wasn’t able to do so. The whole time I was laying in my hospital room, that was the thing that embarrassed me the most. As of now, I’m exercising. I’m happy that it’s okay for me to exercise, so all I do is work out every day. I want to quickly rebuild my strength and be able to get back up with that strength. I will become a good adult that deserves the encouragement and support. Thank you.”

Another Update on His Health on Instagram After the Chemotherapy

Heo Ji Woong gave another update about his health condition. Two months later, on June 19, 2019, he posted a short clip of himself working out. Here is the short clip for you guys:

A post shared by 허지웅 (@ozzyzzz) on Jul 19, 2019 at 1:27am PDT The translation says: “I thought everything would be done once chemotherapy is over. I’ve been in and out of the emergency room two or three times because of heavy stress. I will clean up my mind and start all over again. I’ll be back in good health soon. Let’s be healthy!”

Writer Heo Ji woong Revealed His Battle After Being Diagnosed With Cancer And His Recovery - 75Writer Heo Ji woong Revealed His Battle After Being Diagnosed With Cancer And His Recovery - 82